1 Comment

Mother’s Day: Honoring Grandma and her Lord!


Front LEFT: Grandma with my dear Mother (Right)

I have three heroes in the faith.  They are Rev. Richard Wurmbrand, Grandpa and Grandma.  Grandpa was a missionary at heart and home.  When his heart broke for the family, he would weep and pray earnestly.  He had a gentler way of persuading people.  Whereas Grandma was the opposite.  She was the prophetic one.

I am reminded of the days when Grandma would read scripture to me and my siblings.  Every single day, she led us in a family prayer meeting.  Possessing a stern, rather dry, but incisive and prophetic voice, she would share from the bible relentlessly and passionately. I felt nervous and uneasy back then because her abrasive personal style of delivery sounded authoritative and looked utterly foolish.  Whenever my Grandma stood up to speak, her simple message would prick my heart and conscience, demanding from me “the requirements of the law.”  It made me feel wretched and desperate, because her grand style of thinking and feeling were alien to my juvenile–disobedient life style.  My responses were often abrupt, rude and rebellious in nature.  Quietly shutting the door behind me I would slip out of the house, ridiculing her.  (excerpts from testimony).

Today, I have fondest memories of her.  Grandma taught the Word of God well at home.  Most of the scriptures that I know today were handed down through Grandma’s family prayer meetings.  Grandma, after fighting Cancer for a little over a year, passed away on Monday, August 2009 at 8:05 [IST- Indian Standard Time].   She was one of my most faithful supporters in missions.  Even from her cancerous bed, she continued to send financial missionary support to her Grand-son in Japan.  Such was her dedication to missions.  My Mother was with her during the last hours of her life.  Grandma was reading Psalm 23 and said that the angels were coming to take her home.   Those were her last words!   But Grandma’s life was not all about her; it was mainly about her Lord.  One of her favorite verses is Galatians 6: 14 which speaks about what she loved the most, her Lord.

But far be it from me to boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.

Grandma lived this verse and finished the race well.  She, with Grandpa, left behind a legacy of grace which I desire to continue until I join them to be with the Lord.   Thank you for inspiring me to follow our Lord, Grandma and Grandpa!

I’ll write about my Mother in the next post, who is often used by God mightily without her noticing it.

Thanks for reading 🙂  And feel free to use the comment box below!

One comment on “Mother’s Day: Honoring Grandma and her Lord!

  1. this reminds me of my grandma too. how she would tuck me in every night and recite Psalms 23 in king james version with me. 🙂

    I would stuter with words but she patiently guides me.

    now I can recite “surely goodness and mercy, shall follow me all the days of my life and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever”

    she is in heaven now with grandpa

    – grace and peace

    Like

Leave a Reply

