Leave a comment

Reflections: True Bread Of Life


Here’s what my sister wrote in an e-mail, Marilyn (presently working with Japan Missions).

While working as a volunteer in Ishinomaki, I scouted one of the areas with the hope of handing out as many tracts to as I could.  I noticed several people lining up in front of military trucks with carton boxes in their hands that served as grocery bags.  About two blocks away, I saw residents of government buildings lining up in a similar fashion.  In fact, many more sights like this caught my attention as I continued on my way.  People waited patiently for the supplies to arrive.  Very typical of the Japanese, I thought.   As I watched them, it occurred to me that there’s a far greater need than meets the eye, a need that is beyond physical hunger which no man can satisfy but only Jesus, the “bread of life” can.

John 6:35 “Then Jesus declared, 'I am the bread of life.
He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes
in me will never be thirsty.”'

It is crystal clear to me that I cannot live on anything short of Christ.  Unfortunately, many people in Ishinomaki don’t know that yet and continue to desire worldly food to Christ.  How much more patiently would they wait upon Him if they only knew the Truth!  ………..When will they eat from the bread of life?  These are thoughts that still prey on my mind.

Below is a collage of the sights I was referring to.
Leave a Reply

